Inside AOCS

Award of Merit

Nominations are being sought for the 1984 AOCS Award of Merit. The Award of Merit was established in 1967 to recognize current achievements, without regard to age of the nominee, and to serve as a stimulus for those working in various AOCS activities. Types of service to be considered will include active productive leadership in AOCS committee work, marked leadership in technical, administration or special committees or Society activities; outstanding activity of service that has particularly advanced the Society's prestige, standing or interest, any distinguished service to the Society not otherwise specifically provided for. Recipients are presented with the award during the annual meetings. Nominations for the 1984 award should be made to Dr. R. G. Krishnamurthy, Senior Group Leader, Kraft Inc. Research & Development, 801

Waukegan Rd., Glenview, IL 60025. Deadline for nominations to be received is Feb. 28, 1984.

Errata

The September JAOCS inadvertently omitted the names of two recipients of "outstanding paper" awards for presentations during the 1983 AOCS annual meeting this past May in Chicago.

The two additional recipients and their presentations:

Edward Selke, USDA Northern Regional Research Center, Peoria, IL, "Volatile Constituents from Glycerol-Tris-cis-9, cis-15-Octadecadienoic Acid Heated (192 C) in Air."

Brady A. Vick, USDA, North Dakota State University, "The Biosynthesis of Jasmonic Acid: A Physiological Role for Plant Lipoxygenase."

